When was the u. s. discovered?

The Voyages of Christopher Columbus opened the New World. Italian navigator and explorer Giovanni Caboto (known in English as John Cabot) is credited with the discovery of continental North America on June 24, 1497, under the commission of Henry VII of England.

---

The United States as a country was founded in 1776. The continent of North America, in which the U.S. was founded, was discovered by Viking Leif Eriksen, known as 'Leif the Lucky' around 1000 CE. The official date of the beginning modern European discovery and settlement is October 12, 1492.