Why do cats fart?

Flatulence typically results from a buildup of gas in the digestive system, which is then released from the body. In most instances, cat fart occurs when your kitty swallows too much air, or it could be related to allergies or food. In fact, food is considered one of the main causes of cat farts.

---

Certain food groups, such as indigestible carbohydrates, lead to gas, and foods and treats that have a high meat content can create truly foul-smelling farts. Another common dietary cause of flatulence in cats is the animals they catch and eat.