Where did the strawberry get its name?

Although the exact origin of its common name is uncertain, the name strawberry probably is a corruption of "strewn berry". The latter was an early name for the plant which made reference to the fact that, as a strawberry plant produced runners and spread, its berries were strewn about the ground.