How do they make light?

Light is one kind of energy, in the form of electromagnetic waves and photon particles. In an incandescent light bulb, for example, an electric current heats the atoms in the filament, causing the atoms to vibrate. As they vibrate, they emit electromagnetic radiation that our eyes perceive as light.