What is death to income ratio?

Debt to income ratio is the ratio of money that goes toward debt to the amount of income a person makes over a certain period of time. For example, if a person puts $1000 per month toward paying various debts and makes $5000 per month, their debt to income ratio is one fifth or 20 percent.

---

Your debt-to-income ratio or (DTI) compares the total amount you owe every month to the total amount you earn. Lenders may consider your debt-to-income ratio in tandem with credit reports and credit scores when weighing credit applications.