How much caffeine is in a standard cup of coffee?

"Standard" is a bit of a misnomer, since coffee comes in so many sizes and varieties these days. Once upon a time, a standard diner cup of coffee was 6 ounces. Made from instant, a 6 ounce serving has about 50mg of caffeine. But 6 ounces of percolated coffee, contains about 150mg of caffiene.