How do you cook black beans?

Cooking black beans from scratch, rinse dried beans then soak in a large bowl with water 8-24 hours. Drain and rinse. Add soaked beans, 4 cups of water, and salt to a pot. Bring to a boil, simmer, cover, and then reduce to low heat. Cook until beans are tender, 1 to 1 ½ hours. Drain and serve.