How do you plant mushrooms in minecraft?

Mushrooms in Minecraft must be grown in indoor rooms with low light, but they do not require water, sand, or extra space. Create a room at least two blocks high, dig one block up into the ceiling & place a torch to create recessed lighting. Spread the mushrooms on the floor & wait for them to grow.