How do you cut open a watermelon?

Cut off the ends. Stand up the watermelon and slice down the middle to create two big halves. Lay each half flesh side-down and cut in half again. You'll have a total of 4 long pieces. Turn each quartered piece horizontal and slice into 1 inch strips to create triangles.