What was the u. s. entry the korean war?

On June 25, 1950, North Korea attacked targets heading for Seoul, South Korea. The U.N. Security Council voted 9-0 condemning the invasion as a "breach of the peace." 16 nations sent troops under the U.N. command. Without a declaration of war from Congress, the US part was called a "police action".