What is an electric cardiogram?

An electrocardiogram measures the flow of electrical signals as they travel across the heart. The signals cause the heart muscles to contract in a rhythmic progression so the heart pumps blood through the lungs and body. Incorrect signals are related to different forms of heart attacks.