Why do cats get frisky?

The most common reason cats experience the zoomies is pent-up energy. Cats rest and sleep for a majority of the day to conserve energy for short, very active periods. If you don't play with them, your kitty will need to find a way to get that extra energy out, resulting in a case of the zoomies.