What does wonder woman's lasso do?

The Lasso of Truth is a weapon wielded by DC Comics superheroine Wonder Woman, Princess Diana of Themyscira. It is also known as the Magic Lasso or the Lasso of Hestia. The lariat forces anyone it captures into submission; compelling its captives to obey the wielder of the lasso and tell the truth.