Is hang out one word?

Hangout as one word refers to usage like, "Johnny and I are going to our favorite hangout to skate until dinner." The use of hang out, two words, is correctly used in a context like "Mary and I want to hang out." or "I'm telling your boss I saw you hanging out with the competition."