How do you tell the gender of a bird?

In some species, males and females are colored differently and easy to differentiate. In other species genders look exactly alike, so the best way to determine sex is to have a DNA analysis done. Those are fairly easy to do (a feather, or a drop of blood from the toenail) and fairly inexpensive.