Why are german shepherds called german shepherds?

A shepherd is someone who raises and herds sheep. The name is actually Shep for sheep and Herd. The German shepherd is a German sheep herding dog, used to contain and drive sheep. They also watch over the flock to drive away animals who would prey on the sheep.