How long does acrylic paint take to dry?

Using a thin layer of acrylic paint can be dry at the surface by around one to two minutes. A thicker layer may take up to 30 minutes to an hour, depending on how porous the surface is. However, just because it is dry to the touch does not mean it is completely dry