Which countries started the tradition of putting up a christmas tree?

england

---

Lithonia started it with 16th century Germany expanding on it.

---

Germany is credited with starting the Christmas tree tradition as we now know it in the 16th century. Queen Victoria expanded the tradition to England in the 19th century mainly due to her German born husband Prince Albert.