What's the difference between a thoroughbred and a quarter horse?

Thoroughbreds, generally tall & slim, are heavier & larger than Quarter horses, which are generally muscular & short. Thoroughbreds are unruly & aggressive & are primarily bred for endurance racing, while Quarter horses are loving & mellow & normally bred for working, shows & short distance racing.