How do you disinfect an item?

You can disinfect an item by cleaning the surface using a product containing soap, detergent, or other type of cleaner appropriate for use on these surfaces. Launder items if possible according to the manufacturer's instructions. Use the warmest appropriate water setting and dry items completely.