Why is french vanilla called french vanilla?

French vanilla is called 'french' vanilla because the base of the ice cream contains egg yolks, while the base of regular vanilla ice cream does not. The egg yolks are what give french vanilla its pale-yellow color, and also gives it a richer and smoother consistency.