How do you skate backwards?

To ice skate backwards, begin by bending your knees and keeping your torso upright, like you're sitting in a chair. Next, push off the wall to start moving backwards and angle your toes slightly inward. Then, shift your weight to bring your heels inward so that your feet come back together.