When is squirrels mating season?

Despite cold temperatures and limited food, January is a prime month for mating among our abundant Eastern Gray Squirrels. Their winter breeding cycle is timed for birth in mid-March, just as tree buds are nearly bursting at peak nutritious value for nursing mother squirrels to munch on.