What is the republic of america?

Government can amend a constitution through acts of parliaments & referendums. As long as the constitution continues to protect rights of the people, citizenry continues to vote for representatives, & the constitution limits power of government, the United States remains a REPUBLIC AND a DEMOCRACY.