How does a flash flood happen?

Flash floods occur within a few minutes or hours of excessive rainfall, a dam or levee failure, or a sudden release of water. Flash floods can roll boulders, tear out trees, destroy buildings and bridges, and scour out new channels. Rapidly rising water can reach heights of 30 feet or more.