Why did japan surrender in world war two?

Japan surrendered WWII on August 25 since two Atom bombs destroyed Hiroshima and Nagasaki and killed more than one million Japanese. Fliers rained down on Tokyo warning more bombs would be dropped if they did not surrender. The surrender on the USS Missouri was officiated by General McCarther.