How do you use a name tag in minecraft?

1. Place the Anvil. Once you have the required materials, add the anvil to your hotbar so that it is an item that you can use. 2. Use the Anvil. To use the anvil, you need to stand in front of it. 3. Add the Name to the Name Tag. 4. Move the Name Tag to Inventory. 5. Put the Name Tag on the Mob.