Who's the original j. t.?

The original J.T. is James (J. T.) Taylor, American singer-songwriter and six-time Grammy award winning musician. Last year, fans of the Songwriters Hall of Fame were treated to a reunion of James “JT” Taylor and his former bandmates Robert “Kool” Bell, Ronald Bell and George Brown on stage.