Why do we have hair on our arms?

Our hair plays a very important role in regulating our body temperature. When it's cold outside, tiny muscles surrounding the hair follicle cause the hairs to stand up, to trap more heat near the body. This is what happens when you get goosebumps. So those tiny hairs all over our bodies make sense.