How many licks does it take to get into the middle of a tootsie pop?

Mathematicians at New York University have come up with an answer: 1,000. Previous studies, however, found it only took a few hundred licks to get to the chewy center. But if you ask the wise Mr. Owl who demonstrated that two licks and a bite — was the only way to get to the Tootsie Roll center.