Is olive oil a high heat cooking oil?

Yes. Refined or light olive oil can handle temperatures up to 465°F (240.5°C) so is a good choice for high heat cooking. Extra virgin olive oil is only good to about 350 to 400°F. Other high heat cooking oils include peanut oil, corn oil and sunflower oil.