What state is schitt's creek in?

While the show is filmed in Ontario, Canada, the setting is intended to be vague, with show creators meaning to keep the town's location in either the U.S. or Canada. In an interview with BuzzFeed, Dan Levy said that Canada was the actual setting although Eugene Levy has said it's either country.