What was the biggest spider ever?

The largest spider by weight is the Goliath Birdeater. A relative of the tarantula, it has a leg span of up to 11 inches and can weigh up to 6 ounces. The largest spider by size is the Giant Huntsman spider which can have a leg span of up to 12 inches.