What color is july's birthstone?

Few things catch the eye like the ruby birthstone. The finest color of the birthstone for July is a deep red with a hint of purple, called “pigeon's blood” in the trade. A variety of the mineral corundum, ruby gets its color from trace amounts of the element chromium.