When was the bahamas discovered?

The Bahamas were discovered by the western world in 1492. The original inhabitants of the Bahamas were indigenous Taino (Arawak). They originated from both Hispaniola (today Dominican Republic) and Cuba and migrated by canoe into the Bahamas, settling the entire archipelago by the 12th century.