What are the different types of taste buds?

There are 5 basic tastes that stimulate and are perceived by taste buds, including, salt, sweet, sour, bitter, and umami, which is the taste of MSG. The average person has about 10,000 taste buds that are regenerated and replaced every 10-14 days.