Who is the first one in space?

Yuri Gagarin, a Soviet air force pilot, was the first person in space in April 1961. He was hailed as a hero in the Soviet Union. Unfortunately, he died seven years later when a MIG-15 jet he was piloting crashed. He was only 34 years old.