What was the most recent volcano explosion?

The eruption of Hunga-Tonga-Hunga-Ha'apai volcano on 15 January 2022 was the largest recorded since the eruption of Krakatoa in 1883. The eruption triggered tsunami waves of up to 15m which struck the west coast of Tongatapu, 'Eua and Ha'apai. Ashfall covered an area of at least 5 square kilometres