Why do they call a sandwich sandwich?

A sandwich is named after an 18th Century British Aristocrat, John Montagu, the 4th Earl of Sandwich. During long card games he would order his valet to bring him salt beef between two pieces of toasted bread which allowed him to continue playing without needing a fork.