What is dynamite made out of?

Straight dynamite contains nitroglycerine, sodium nitrate, and a combustible absorbent (e.g., wood pulp).

---

Straight dynamite contains nitroglycerine, sodium nitrate, and a combustible absorbent such as wood pulp. Ammonia dynamites contain ammonium nitrate, and gelatin dynamites contain nitrocellulose which creates their gelatinous consistency.