Are black widow spiders deadly to humans?

Yes. The venom of the black widow will upset the blood chemistry of most people who have been bitten. There is an antidote, but it may take emergency room doctors awhile to figure out what is wrong with you unless you live in an area where they see the results of bites regularly.