What was the highest wind ever recorded?

World Record Wind. For nearly sixty-two years, Mount Washington, New Hampshire held the world record for the fastest wind gust ever recorded on the surface of the Earth: 231 miles per hour, recorded April 12, 1934 by Mount Washington Observatory staff.

---

The highest wind gust ever recorded was 254mph near Barrow Island, Austrailia. The highest wind gust ever recorded in the United States was 231mph and was recorded at the summit of Mount Washington, New Hampshire in 1934.