What is a sitar music pattern?

The unique sound of the sitar is due to its construction, most notably the resonant gourd-shaped body with five melody strings, two drone strings and up to thirteen sympathetic strings beneath the frets. Sitar music often follows a raga--a melodic framework of notes designed for improvisation.