What country invented chocolate?

Chocolate beans were first found in the Olmec, which is Mexico today, around 1000 BC.; but the world’s first chocolate bar ever made was invented by an Englishman, his name is Joseph Fry, around mid 1800s.

---

The history of chocolate begins its 4,000 years of history in ancient Mesoamerica, present-day Mexico, and the birthplace of chocolate. It's here that the first cacao plants, the plant which chocolate is made from, were found.