Does clifford the big red dog talk?

Does clifford the big red dog talk? In the movie Clifford didn't talk. In the new series, Clifford and Emily speak to each other, but only when they're alone. Clifford and his dog pals had always chatted using words instead of woofs, but he was all dog with humans in his past TV life.