What's a elixir?

An elixir is a sweet liquid used for medical purposes, to be taken orally and intended to cure one's illness. Typically, alcohol and water are used as solvents when the drug will not dissolve in water alone. In addition to active drug, they usually contain flavouring and colouring agents.