What what kind of shoes do ninjas wear?

The jika-tabi or split-toed boot associated with the ninja by many westerners was actually invented in the 20th century. Historically ninja may have worn a thick pair of tabis or split-toed socks to muffle footsteps, possibly with a pair of straw sandals equipped with metal talons for climbing.