Where is the cradle of humanity?

The paleoanthropological site called the Cradle of Humankind is located about 30 miles northwest of Johannesburg, South Africa. The name reflects the fact that the site has produced a large number of some of the oldest hominin fossils ever found, some dating back as far as 3.5 million years.