What's a hip flexor?

According to the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the hip flexors are a group of muscles toward the front of the hip. They help you move or flex your leg and knee up towards your body. A hip flexor strain occurs when one or more of the hip flexor muscles becomes stretched or torn.