What is the fastest wind ever?

The fastest wind speed ever recorded comes from a hurricane gust. On April 10, 1996, Tropical Cyclone Olivia (a hurricane) passed by Barrow Island, Australia. The equivalent of a Category 4 hurricane at the time, is 254 Miles per hour

---

Outside of a tropical cyclone or tornado, the fastest wind speed recorded on earth is 231 MPH at Mt. Washington, NH.